Heartbroken Promises 2 – author interview – Sherry Shumard

Paperback Writer welcomes author of the romance novel, Heartbroken Promises2, author Sherry Shumard as she makes continues the second week on her virtual book tour with Pump Up Your Book. You can find Sherry at http://www.sherryshumard.com

ABOUT THE BOOK:
Vicky Wainright decides to visit Jake’s Island so she can be close to her sister Miranda. She is offered a nanny job by Jordan a very handsome and eligible bachelor who is raising his son by himself. She meets her sister’s waiter Noah and is quickly torn between loving him and Jordan. She gets kidnapped while babysitting along with Jordan’s son Derrick and her sister believes that Noah was one of the kidnappers. How will she feel about Noah after she finds out the truth? Will Derrick and her be rescued or be killed?
You can order your copy today at Amazon.

Q: Will you share with us how you came up with the idea for this book?

A: I came up with the idea for the book based on what I carelessly did when I was sixteen years old. I thought I would run away from a cheating boyfriend and all my problems by buying a one way ticket to Jekyll Island. I never made it to Jekyll Island, though. The main character Vicky Wainright decides to go down south to an island to visit her sister Miranda. Miranda Wainright ran away from her problems and a cheating boyfriend but got lucky and found the man of her dreams. She is getting married and Vicky is going to be in the wedding. The island isn’t the safest place for Vicky because she gets kidnapped and likes two men. She ends up making a wrong decision and must suffer the consequences, even if it means saying no the one man who really loves and wants to marry her.

Q: Do you plan your stories first with an outline or does it come to you as write it?

A: I don’t use an outline. The story just comes to me as I’m writing it. I love to sit down at the computer and type away. Of course, I usually do have some ideas on which direction that I want the story to go but it can change a little as I’m writing because I might have a better idea or plot twist.

Q: Do you know the end of the story at the beginning?
A: I do know whether or not the book will have a happy ending or a sad ending. As I write the chapters I will progress to the ending creating some plot twists and will just create the story as I go along.

Q: Do you have a process for developing your characters?

A: I just visually picture the characters in my head and just think that if I were in their shoes, then, what would I do? If I was a nice character then I would be nice to everyone. If I were a wicked character, then what kinds of things would I do to the main character and the rest of the characters? This process seems to work well for me.

Q: It is said that authors write themselves into their characters. Is there any part of you in your characters and what they would be?

A: I think that can be true, especially in my first novel “Heartbroken Promises” the main character Miranda Wainright is me. I just pictured how my life would have ended up if I would have made it to Jekyll Island. I would have been happy and I would have married my prince charming and live happily ever after. Of course in the real world that doesn’t happen very much. Theres always ups and downs in life and you have to deal with your problems and not run away from them. Sometimes the grass isn’t always greener on the other side but it doesn’t stop people from thinking that it does.

Q: What is your most favorite part about this book?

A: In “Heartbroken Promises 2” I think that the most favorite part about this book is when Jordan proposed to Vicky Wainright by writing in the sand: “Will you marry me?” I think that it was very romantic and original. Of course, Vicky was stunned and taken aback. It’s too bad that she didn’t feel right by saying yes to him. He was crushed to say the least.

Q: What struggles have you had on the road to being published?

A: I’ve found out that there is a lot of work involved in writing the book, having it edited, and then trying to find the right publisher. Then, after the book is published, it is a lot of work to get your name and your book out there for the public to see that it even exists.

Q: What has been the best part about being published?

A: Actually looking at the awesome book covers and seeing the titles and my name on the front covers. It is very rewarding knowing that as a published author, I’ve contributed my stories to entertain my readers. I’ve always dreamed of writing books and having a library filled with books from other authors as well as my own.

Q: What do you want readers to remember and carry with them after reading your novel?

A: That life is full of choices and sometimes you may not make all the right ones, but at least you can live with your choice with no regrets. I’m referring to how the main character Vicky Wainright in “Heartbroken Promises 2” made a choice to trust Noah. Then her actions turned out to have a lasting effect on the rest of her life and she struggles with her feelings for Jordan who wants to marry her.

Q: Do you have plans to write another book?

A: I’ve already started the third book in the series: “Heartbroken Promises 3.” This book will continue where “Heartbroken Promises 2” left off. There is still a child that was kidnapped-Jordan’s son Derrick. The search will continue for Derrick and his alleged kidnapper Jake’s ex-wife Emily. Jake is now married to Vicky’s sister Miranda. Also, Vicky will have to decide if she wants to be with Noah, Jordan, or will just live without them. She has something to deal with from her past so it will be a hard decision for her.

Thank you Sherry for visiting with Paperback Writer today. I wish you success on your book tour.

Thank you for having me, it was a pleasure.

2 thoughts on “Heartbroken Promises 2 – author interview – Sherry Shumard

  1. Pingback: Sherry Shumard’s author of Heartbroken Promises 2, virtual book tour spotlighted in Danville, Illinois, The Commerical News « Paperback Writer – Books and Author Interviews

Leave a comment