The Questory – Author Interview – Kamilla Reid

 

There is still a few more weeks of summer vacation and for all the bored teenagers in America who have taken to nagging their parents with that familiar whine, “I’m bored,”   Paperback Writer recommends reading this exciting teen fantasy book, The Questory of Root Karbunkulus by the author Kamilla Reid. Find out more about the book and continue reading to find out how the author came up with the idea for this book.

 

 

About the Book:

Young Root Karbunkulus gets an invitation to participate in ‘the coolest scavenger hunt of all time!’ Finally, her chance! She can escape the Aunts and prove once and for all there’s no stinkin’ “L” on her forehead! So what if she’s up against hundreds of other kids. It can’t be worse than murder ball. The rules say teams of three. Okay, okay her appointed team mates, Lian and Dwyn are screws-in-the-temples annoying…but livable…and really no worse than Goatface Kor or Hilly Punyun who, forget the panties, has a tiara for each day of the week. More rules: Can’t use magic on competitors. Doh! Oh well, at this point her magic is of the non-existent variety anyhow so…next! The first item up for grabs is the Miist of Kalliope, apparently some dead magician’s elixir. No prob. But wait. Out of hundreds of teams, there are only six of these Miists to be found? Leaving only six teams left to go after the next item? Then five, four, three, two…woah…this could get ugly….hmmm…compete and win…or go back to exfoliating those hard, crusted entities called Auntie Octavia’s feet?

Root Karbunkulus accepts the invitation. It will be a race of many, many hated things. But it will also be a contest of courage, friendship and the rising of soul. Within it Root will learn the terrifying truth behind the mysterious items. She will also discover, to her horror that she is not a player in an innocent kid’s race but a pawn in a vicious adult game that will readily send its champion into the profiteering hands of the enemy.

 

 

 

 

Hi Kamilla Reid,

 

Welcome to Paperback Writer

 

 

Will you share with us how you came up with the idea for this book?

 

I had the idea for DréAmm, the location for my book many, many years ago and because I was involved in live theatre I wrote it as a musical. But I never really liked the feel of it in this format. It felt limited. Plus, I hadn’t quite come into the ‘hook’ yet, that thing that made me go “yes, this is it!” It wasn’t until years later when I caught a snippet of that TV reality show “The Amazing Race” that I finally got that ‘aha!’ moment. I loved the idea of teams of kids all racing against each other in a glorified kind of scavenger hunt to find something very, very important. DréAmm then became a magical land where virtually anything could happen. That’s when the main character, Root Karbunkulus just showed up and showed me around. Of course then the plot got really got good with all sorts of agendas going on, personal and otherwise. In the end, the name ‘DréAmm’ stayed but everything else was ditched.

Around this same time I was leaving the theatre and facing a new role as Single Mum; the perfect combination for finally doing that thing that you promised yourself that you would do but never did. 

 

 

  

Do you plan your stories first with an outline or does it come to you as write it?

I absolutely have to work out the plot, all the plots ahead of time. So, before I even started book one I had to work out every major plot point and every main character’s arc for all six books first. Sometimes I have no idea what the event specifically will be, only that something has to occur that will plunge so-and-so into emotional turmoil or great joy or even death…that sort of thing. But even in the forging of the plot I feel as creative as when I am writing or dialoguing detail. It all melds together with each level getting more and more specific. I love it! It’s like when I was writing and directing for theatre from scripting, to rehearsals, to decorating the set to honing the timing down to within a second. Every bit as important and exciting.

 

 

Do you know the end of the story at the beginning?

 

Oh yes!

 

 

 

It is said that authors write themselves into their characters. Is there any part of you in your characters and what they would be?

 

 I think that there is a bit of me, both good and bad in several of my characters: Root’s perseverance, Hilly’s diva-ness. On a general note, the humor of the characters is definitely a huge part of who I am.  But I don’t intend to insert ‘me-isms’ as I write. It’s just a natural extension that can’t be helped…sort of subliminally. I remember JRR Tolkien saying that he did not purposely write in the big, fat, scary spider but he did have a big, fat scary spider encounter when he was a child. So, I can’t help but see an unconscious weaving of the author in his or her work.

 

What is your most favorite part about this book?

 

 Aw, man, that is soooo hard! I love the Aunts and, as a matter of fact I get many emails asking that I bring them back. They’re pretty funny. But I also love Madam Mordgidika Keen and her toad-and-a-half Gruel, especially when he swallows Root. That even surprised me as I wrote it! Gosh, well…I guess I’d have to say the Simp. When I got the Simp, everything else fell into place and I remember feeling so excited.

 

When in the process of writing your book did you begin to look for a publisher?

 

No. I knew from the start that I wanted to go out on my own first. After years in live theatre where budgets dictated everything and I just couldn’t treadmill out another 6-person musical, I wanted complete freedom to explore this new field on my own. I wanted to write my book and have fun creating the book cover and I wanted to make an awesome website and book trailer. I wanted to do it all for the fun of it but also to learn the business of books. It was very worth it to me.

 

What struggles have you had on the road to being published?

 

Wearing too many hats, not to mention the Single Mum Crown began to take its toll. I was doing too much and getting burnt out. But the good thing is that I had managed a fair amount of success on my own, which was a great thing to bring to the tables of agents and traditional publishers. 

 

What has been the best part about being published?

 

I’m living the dream! To me there is nothing greater than sharing my stories with the world, knowing my words are making readers laugh and cry and smile and cheer. I love getting emails from kids who have read my book and can’t wait to find out what happens next. It is pure joy!

 

What do you want readers to remember and carry with them after reading your novel?

 

I’d love for readers to finish with a ‘holy crap that was so cool’ feeling in them. The kind of happy excited feelings that they have when amazing things happen to themselves and their friends. 

 

Do you have plans to write another book?

 

Well, this series is six books and I’m just on book 2 so that’ll keep me busy for awhile. But I also have an idea for another magical adventure in the works.

 

Would you care to share with us how the virtual book tour experience with Pump Up Your Book Promotion has been for you?

 

Dorothy has been amazing! Right from the get-go it has been an exciting unfolding and a fantastic way to make new industry friends in the process. I am more than pleased with it so far!

 

Where can readers find a copy of your book?

 

 The best place would be the book’s website just because it’s so cool there J Also Amazon.

 

Do you have a website for readers to go to?

 

http://www.rootkarbunkulus.com Also there are quite a few videos on youtube. Readers can just search under “The Questory of Root Karbunkulus”

 

Thank you, Kamilla for sharing your book and characters with us today. It has been a pleasure and I hope you have had a successful virtual book tour.

 

Thank you so much for granting me this time to share with you and your readers. It was a thrill and a pleasure.  Please let me know if you’d like to do a book giveaway. I would be more than happy to send one out!

All the very best to you,

 

Kamilla

 

 

 

The Questory of Root Karbunkulus Virtual Book Tour ‘08

officially begin on July 7, 2008 and continue all month. If you would like to follow Kamilla’s tour , visit http://www.virtualbooktours.wordpress.com/ in July.As a special promotional offer, Pump Up Your Book Promotion is giving away one FREE virtual book tour or a $25 Amazon gift certificate to one lucky person drawn from the ones who participate by leaving a comment or a question for the author at any of our authors’ blog stops. Check back at the end of the month to see if you’re that lucky person!
 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “The Questory – Author Interview – Kamilla Reid

  1. Pingback: Pump Up Your Book Promotion July Authors on Tour - Day 16 « Pump Up Your Book Promotion Virtual Book Tours

Leave a comment